Brinda Berry

The Writer’s Christmas List

AMERICAN CYANAMID

Dear Santa,

As a writer, there are some things that wordsmiths love to receive. Please take note of the list below or pass it on to my loved ones who have considered buying me some house slippers or a new vacuum cleaner. Santa, I’ve placed some prices alongside each item purely to help you know where they fit in your budget.

1. A portable, bluetooth keyboard to connect to the smartphone or tablet. Who can type on those tiny screens? I need room for my fingers to FLY across a keyboard. ($39 and up)

2. Netbooks can be an affordable and lightweight answer for the writer on the go. Why don’t you pick up a nice, lightweight case for it while you’re at it? ($299 and up)

3. Flash drives can store hundreds of manuscripts. Or how about getting me a subscription to Dropbox online? ($10 and up).

4. Books about craft are easy to purchase, but please pick a reputable one. Here are some on my TBR list with author and title: Donald Maass, Writing the Breakout Novel; David Morrell, Lessons from a Lifetime of Writing; and James Scott Bell, Plot & Structure. These are only a few on my list. I already have Stephen King’s On Writing and loved it. ($10 and up)

5. Go to shop.cafepress.com/writers to find an assortment of inexpensive items like clothing, drinkware, posters, and jewelry just for writers! ($10 and up)

6. Moleskin notebooks for jotting down ideas are terrific. Now I realize that a dinner napkin will do in a pinch, but there are some very pretty journals out there. Then I’ll always be ready to record my thoughts about characters, setting, and plot. ($10 and up)

7. Digital voice recorders can be great for also capturing those ideas, especially when I need a hands-free device. ($40 and up)

8. Coffee/Tea mugs would make me one happy writer. I need lots of caffeine beverages to keep me going at the crack or dawn and late at night. Pick one with a motivational or humourous saying to make it special. ($5 and up)

9. Laptop bed desks are nice for writing when I should be sleeping. You know how writers wake up in the MIDDLE of the night with that brilliant idea. ($20 and up)

10. Coffee house gift cards are the bomb. Sometimes I just need to get away from the house and the dog. and significant other. What Santa? That was harsh? Okay, I’ll rephrase that. “A different writing environment inspires me, so I’d love to write at the local Starbucks.” (any price)

Thanks,

The Needy Writer

*image credit: http://www.flickr.com/photos/george_eastman_house/3122865907/

4 thoughts on “The Writer’s Christmas List

  1. These are all great ideas for the busy writers. I want a cap to put on my head that will take those awesome scene up there and put them in my computer without my fingers getting in the way!

    Merry Christmas!

    1. Yeah..well, I’m sure Santa will put that on his workshop list and get the elves to make one..right after they finish with the INVISIBILITY CLOAKS. haha. Merry Christmas to you!

  2. I think I’m going to print this post and casually leave it on the corner of the countertop in the kitchen, where my family can easily see. it. I’m just saying! 🙂

  3. GREAT list, Brinda. I have been drooling over those roll-up portable blue-tooth enabled keyboards at Brookstones. If they were smart, they’d give me a hankie when I enter.

    I have also been drooling over iPads, but I have NO HOPE that Santa will grant that wish. He already financed my trip to the M&M conference in Atlanta. Drat on him and his memory!

Comments are closed.