Uncategorized

I’ll Show You Mine if You’ll Show Me Yours…

…book promotion ideas, that is. 

I keep vacillating on the concept of Romance Trading Cards. There’s time and money involved and let’s face it…I’m not sure if there will be a return on investment. Do Trading Cards sell books? My gut says no. Is my gut wrong? Not that my gut has stopped me doing a “self-designed” card. Here is my Western Style Romance Trading Card…Remember, this is still a WIP

In today’s publishing environment, I wonder about every promotion idea I’ve had. So read through my list and advise this publishing newbie…What was your Return on Investment for promotion?

1.  Trading Cards 

2.  Book Marks

3.  Online Chats (of which I have one tonight! See details at the end of this blog.)

4.  Blog Tours (Yep. I’ve got one of those coming up. Click HERE and see where I’m heading.)

5.  Promo items like nail files, jar openers, candy, etc.

So talk to me. What has worked for you?

Tonight I’m doing my first “official” chat as a Samhain Author from 9:00-10:00 EST at http://groups.yahoo.com/group/samhaincafe/   It’d be great to have a friendly face or two. PLUS if you come by and tell me you want one, I’ll mail you one of my very cool jar openers (U.S. Residents Only)

So I hope to see you tonight!

and remember…

Texas Two Step is available for preordering at Samhain, Amazon, and Barnes & Noble

 

To learn more about Cynthia and her books check out the links below:

  • Her website 
  • Friend her on Facebook
  • Follow her on Twitter
  • Join her and her fans at her group Blog 
  • Sign up for inside scoops and special contests by receiving the newsletter she shares with her blog buddies.

Thanks for coming by! See you tonight…I hope 

5 thoughts on “I’ll Show You Mine if You’ll Show Me Yours…

  1. I think the blog tours are a definite on the marketing plan. They’re also time-consuming. It’s hard to determine ROI unless you can poll every person who receives a promo item. The only feedback you know you have is level of participation in giveaways. An increased level may mean more exposure if the “goods” are desirable. I have the romance trading cards and have told you I like them. People are “collectors.” Great post!

  2. Hi Cynthia. I have the trading cards and people seem to like them. I carry them with me (instead of bookmarks) and hand them out to people when we get to talking about my books. I use them as a sales tool as well as swag. Blog tours definitely help to connect with people but I never count on selling a ton of books based on them. I look at it as a way to get my name out there and have some fun with readers. As far as the promo items, the only thing I use are my bullet items. They are relevant to the series and people get a kick out of them. I always try to think of promo in terms of how the item relates to my book. So, for your book, can you do something fun with a cowboy hat or a boot? That would be fun!

  3. Cynthia! All good questions and I’m interested in learning more about promotions. Finding something unique for the reader to want and keep is the challenge. Your bottle opener is a great example of a keeper!

  4. I’m still trying to figure out what works. I’ll need some swag for Romanticon and am looking at ideas. I’m considering the trading cards but want a ‘keeper’ item like the jar openers, too.

Comments are closed.