Margaret Ethridge · Uncategorized

Bunnies!

As many of you know, I am a fan of bunnies. I have a house rabbit—a spoiled rotten lop named Tim who is the love of my life. I also have a head full of plot bunnies. And while bunnies, real or imaginary, can be terribly cute, they can also be…terrors.

So many stories, so little time. What a problem for a writer to have. But it can be a problem when Peter Plot Bunny wants to horn in on the time you’re spending with Petunia Plot Bunny. And what about Penelope, Paul, and Paco? They all want attention too. When Tim Bunny has needs, he bumps our ankles and does little bunny herkies. So cute. When the plot bunnies want a little lovin’ they run rampant in my head, hopping from one story to another with complete disregard for the document open on my desktop. Not so cute.

The moment I finished the first draft of my June release, I was besieged by plot bunnies. I may have gone a little wild. I’m talking Jenny Craig survivor at the Old Country Buffet—nothing is safe. My files are littered with plot outlines, snippets of random dialogue, and pictures of things that are supposed to remind me of things I’m supposed to use in a story. I probably should have noted the train of thought on some of those…

Talk about an embarrassment of riches. I’m almost to the point where these bunnies are becoming a nuisance.

Almost, but not quite.

Call me greedy, but I’d rather have too many ideas than not enough. I figure if the story is one that needs to be told, it’ll hang on until I get around to it. After all, if Patty Plot Bunny doesn’t have the legs to hang on for just a few more months, she probably wouldn’t have a very good shelf life, either. So I let them run and hop and do the things that bunnies do (wink-wink). The more the merrier, right?

What do you do when the plot bunnies attack?

ETA: I forgot to upload a picture of Tim! Here he is, the love of my life:

13 thoughts on “Bunnies!

  1. Plot bunnies are much preferred to writer’s block. I’m using Evernote now and will be forever caging my plot bunnies within its secure walls.

  2. I love your plot bunnies. You are always keeping me entertained and it is all about me right? So hop to it. Let your plot bunnies multiply.

  3. Unlike the soft and fluffy real bunnies, plot bunnies can be dangerous to your productivity. The only time I let mine out to play is when I’m in bed.

    And I have never actually held a real bunny! I’m going to have to come out to your house, Margaret and experience that.

  4. You’re more than welcome, Cyndi, but Tim may not cooperate. Bunnies look cuddly, but they’re even more aloof than cats. We’ve had Tim for almost six years, and only in the last few months has he deigned to let me put him in my lap. He loves to be petted, but not held.

    As for the plot bunnies, I let mine out to play in the dark of night too. There’s nothing better than plotting your way to sweet dreams.

  5. Awe Tim is absolutely adorable! Its interesting you mention the plot bunnies, they invade my brain like crazy. I actually have to write the ideas down because I’m so afraid I will forget but then when an additional idea hits me about a specific plot, I add to my note. What is evernote? Maybe something I should consider?

  6. I am in love with your bunny. *hugs Tim* Fabulously entertaining post, as always! What do I do when the plot bunnies attack? I have a special tape recorder for those very occasions. “Julie’s log . . . what about a story about present-day society without the most basic inventions? So, like a society of stupid people? It’s brilliant! This is Julie, signing off.”

  7. I hear you, sistah! Plot bunnies abound in my life as well. In fact, they overtook me for a while. Distracting little fluffy things.
    Nice post MK – you keep plotting hunny bunny.

  8. Loved your blog. I get an abundance of plot bunnies, too. I either write things down on an index card for my file or add the info to a computer file named, Story Ideas. Adorable lop, BTW!

Comments are closed.