Brinda Berry · tools

My Writing Space Essentials

I have a bedroom that I use as an office. Someday, I’d like to have a large desk, an ergonomic chair,  bookshelves lining one wall, and plenty of cabinets with doors. Could I add a sofa and club chair to that order? Sure…it’s just a dream I have. For now, I’ll have to be satisfied with what I have.

So, here’s a peek into what I consider okay for a functional writing space.

THE DESK

Notice that my desk has a laptop placed on top of a box. This is called engineering. My physical therapist instructed me to quit typing on my lap. That defeats the purpose of a laptop, but I agree that my health is more important.  See the attached keyboard?  I purchased that to accommodate this new, ergonomic setup.  I also have my iPad and its bluetooth keyboard handy.

Brinda's desk
Brinda's Desk

The Printer Cart

I have a printer and scanner on an inexpensive steel cart with wheels. I only wish I’d  inherit an ink factory.  This is a handy setup because I can push it into the corner when not using it.

The Printer Cart

The Supplies

Pens, notepads, journals, and post-it notes are all essential.

The Printer Cart

Paper for Editing

The Author’s Mascot

I have two cairn terriers. One is my constant companion while I write. One day, I realized how lonely writing might be if not for his company. I’m grateful to have him.

The toy area for the author's mascot
The toy area for the author's mascot

Where do you write?  Are my essentials familiar to you? 

8 thoughts on “My Writing Space Essentials

  1. Brinda, loved this post. I too dream of an ergonomic chair. Ugh. Mine is so uncomfortable, yet here I sit. Getting a new one is on my list! Do you use the keyboard with your ipad a lot? A friend was showing me hers and it looked pretty cool. Good for traveling. And, yep, pets are key! Mine wander in all the time. The chair becomes even more uncomfortable when shared with my cat! And my faithful lab sounds just like your cairn terrier. Enjoy your day! Hope you get a lot done!

    1. I use mine a lot. I mainly use it for writing (as opposed to playing games or something less productive on the iPad). I have an app called Manuscript and always use my keyboard while in it.

  2. Your space looks so organized and productive…

    My writing gear is a laptop and my space is my bed. Thanks to an old tailbone injury, I can’t very long without it hurting, so I have an odd lounging position for writing.

    My mascot is a 10 yo Maine Coon cat named Minerva. I think she’s more determined to stop me from writing than help me most days and her favorite place to me is on my hip.

    So that’s how I write… stretched out on my side with a cat snoozing on me.

    1. I know what you mean about Minerva hindering rather than helping. My other cairn always wanted to sit on top of the laptop when I used to write on the sofa.

  3. Love you’re space, Brinda! I, too, need order to write. I’ve also found I need changes in scenery. If I’m productive at my desk one day, I have to go to the library the next or nothing will get accomplished. The sticky notes are awesome. What do you use them for? I have a stack of stickies in my car, to remind me to get gas or retrieve/drop off something. But I don’t have any for writing.

    Hope you had a great day!

    1. When I am editing, I print the MS at least one time. There is something about seeing it on paper where I can catch things I didn’t see before. This one is printed in the Review format with the large margins on right and bottom and markup from Word visible. The small colored flags are there to tell me to go back and rework a scene. The larger yellow ones are POV markers with the character name written on it. My first two books were in first person POV. This MS is written in third person and has two POVs and I caught myself head-hopping. It’s just a reminder like your ones in the car for getting gas- lol.

Comments are closed.