Uncategorized

Kindle or book? I will always need both. Will you?

I’ve always been an avid reader. I was never without a book and would read whenever I could. I even have a library of books on CD for long car trips. I loved the smell of a book store and the feel of the paper on my fingers as I turned each page. Then I got my kindle and my book shelves got dusty and I had no reason to stop  at our local bookstores, or so I thought.

E-readers are amazing. They hold hundreds of books, magazines and newspapers. They fit in your purse and you can buy a new book with just one click. So what’s the downfall?  I can’t think of any, can you?  With today’s technology you can turn anything into an e-reader. Your PC, Smartphone, iPod and so on, so what keeps the bookstores thriving?

I know you’re saying to yourself, not everyone has an e-reader. Not everyone likes today’s technology, and you’re right. But there is another very important reason why the book stores will remain open for me…water.

My two favorite things to do cannot be done together unless I have a paperback, and sometimes that can be a disaster. I love to go to the beach and take long hot baths and my kindle does not like sand or a hot steamy bathroom. So I will always need a book I can hold on to. How about you? What is your reason to keep your library growing?

Blurb for, Rescued from the Dark. A romantic suspense to be published through Black Opal Books. Release date not yet set.

What if you woke up from a nightmare, trapped in a world of darkness, with no memory of how you got there?  Rescued from the Dark is a passionate, gripping story about an FBI agent confronting his duty to his country, and struggling with his deep feelings for a woman with no memory of  their love.

Jason Michaels infiltrates the terrorist cell and risks everything, even his life, to save the FBI intern who stole his heart, then walked away. Once Mercy wakes from her coma Jason struggles with the fact that she does not remember what happened, but anguishes with the idea that she believes their unborn child belongs to her ex. Jason soon realizes the terrorists vow to get her back to claim their secrets locked in her memory, no matter what the cost. In a race against time, Jason and Mercy struggle to fight their attraction, and put their differences aside, as they launch a manhunt to save their country and each other

8 thoughts on “Kindle or book? I will always need both. Will you?

  1. I like to keep both, too. I kinda prefer e-books, but there are sometimes that only a print copy will do. BTW, Rescued from the Dark sounds amazing!

  2. If given the choice, I’ll take digital every time. Yes, I know what you mean about beach and the tub reading as I’d never take my ereader there. However, I’ve gotten to where I don’t like holding a book open!

  3. I like both, also. I get my paperbacks from used book stores or check them out at the library. I buy new releases with my iphone or kindle. My iphone is convenient, small and always with me. But I do love the feel of stiff pages under my fingers and the sound of a turning page.

  4. Hey Sandra,
    It’s hard to be torn but I guess this indecision will keep the books stores open for us. I’m glad you Like the blurb. I can’t wait until I get a release date.
    Thanks for commenting
    Lynda

  5. Hey Brinda and Cynthia,
    I do digital for probably 95% of my reading, and I read alot. But I also start my day with a hot bubble bath and a little reading time, so paperbacks will be in my life until they make a waterproof kindle. :}
    Lynda

  6. Hey Megan,
    I buy my books from the used book stores also, unless it’s a new one that I’ve been waitng for. I love going through the boxes and tables of donated books to see if there’s one that catches my eye. I do love the nice eye candy on some of those books. :}
    Lynda

  7. I love my Kindle, but I’ll always have a book around too. My most favorite books are books I keep on the shelf. That way I can see them and grab them and feel them as I read. On the go, though, I always take my kindle. I usually have 2 or 3 books going at a time.

Comments are closed.