Cynthia D'Alba

Fast Drafting Anyone?

This will be short. I am taking Candy Haven’s Fast Draft class which is basically writing your book in two weeks with no re-reading, no editing. Just basically vomiting the story out, then going back to flesh out the scenes, edits, etc after the entire story is there.

I confess…I’m not sure this is going to work for me. I like to tweak and edit as I go, which makes me write vvveeerrrryyyy sssssllllloooowwwwlllyyy!

With fast draft, Candy writes 20 pages a day. She doesn’t use word counts (i.e. a per day word count) because she thinks it easier, and therefore more encouraging, to count number of pages done.

So, if you’re a writer, do you count pages or words?

What’s the most you have ever written in one day?

Ok, back to the writing cave.

Head down. Fingers on keys.

Go!

13 thoughts on “Fast Drafting Anyone?

  1. I don’t think I could do it. I’m a slow writer. I think I did 5000 words once in a day. That’s the most I’ve had for a daily word count. It was during a challenge I was doing…maybe some sort of boot camp. I can’t remember cause it’s all a blur.

    1. I have found what slows me down is editing as I go…trying to make sure I have the “right” word or phrase before moving on. Not this week. If I have five sentences that start with “She” or “he” fine. I can fix that later. And the other thing I’ve found is that I’m enjoying my story! I love telling it to me. I have a lot of dialogue. I’m missing emotional responses. That’s okay. I can add that later when I edit.

      The basic idea is to write without editing. Turn your editor off and just tell your story. It’s okay at this point to be “telling not showing” too. When you edit, you’ll come to these telling spots, stop and edit.

      Get your story done. Whip it out. That’s the idea.

      Candy says it takes her about 2.5 hours per day to write 20 pages. Think about that time commitment. That’s not a lot

  2. I’m with Brinda, my max was somewhere around 4800 but it drained me. Once i’m writing consistently again I would like to up my production though. I was able to do 1500-2000 a day for a while. I want to get back to that and then start raising it till I can do 4k a day regularly and easily. Baby steps.

  3. First, I love the bottom graphic!!

    Until the writing retreat I counted pages. The most I’ve gotten in a day was 18 and boy I thought I was hot stuff. I average twelve pages a day, if I have a “writing day.” I reread and edit what I wrote the prior day then plug along. But twenty pages a day, wow! Good luck the fast draft, Cynthia!!

    1. Have to give Margaret Ethridge credit for the photo!

      See my comment to Brinda. It’s the editing from the day before that slowing you down.

      Honestly, this is the first time I’ve written like this and I’m loving it…AND making progress

      Except today, when I allowed myself to sleep. I’ll be up all night writing

  4. From one slow writer to another – Go, you!! I’ve done 20 pages in a day but it’s incredibly rare. I’m doing revisions now so I’m tracking chapter by chapter, but earlier this year, when I was in a writing phase, if I hit 2,000 words a day, I was feeling pretty good. Consistency and speed are two huge goals of mine. And it’s tough! Have a terrific weekend, Cynthia!

  5. The most I’ve ever written in one day was 20 pages. Usually, I go by word count, but only because I have a spreadsheet I plug it into and that breaks it down to pages. My average word count per page is 220, so I divide total word count by that. Works for me.

    I also edit as I go. I’ve tried and tried to break the habit, but can’t seem to quit so I just keep plugging away.

    Good luck!

  6. I love a fast draft. When my head is in a story I can put up some numbers. For me, the trouble is having the time to get in the groove. I basically have about 2-3 hours of free time per night once the family stuff is under control, and I have to divide that time between writing, promo, and just a little goofing off. Sometimes a lot of goofing off… All work and no play makes Mags a bit cranky.

    The most I’ve written in one day lately was at the DSRA retreat. On Saturday I clocked 7,263 words and it felt great. I have managed to stick to my 1,000 word per day goal so far this month. I’ve had a couple of nights off, but I banked some words to ‘earn’ them. Not sure that I will be able to keep this pace into June, but I’m going to give it a try!

Comments are closed.