Megan Mitcham

Your Favorite Bad A**

In fiction for certain, and sometimes in reality, we love a good bad ass. Whether guy or girl, we thirst for characters who break boundaries, dent the mold, transcend the mundane. The bad asses are the ones who get our hearts and glands pumping. Is it the excitement or the tingle of fear for the unknown that snatches our attention in its tight fist, refusing to let go?

Enter into the scene a serious bad ass and this is his or her theme song. Advance to the 26th second for the full effect. (I love you Metallica. Yay for the 2012 tour!)

Did you listen to the lyrics? Befitting, I think.

Most times, we don’t want a real law breaker. Only someone who skirts the boarders of criminal. And if we’re being honest we like our bad asses on the side of the greater good.

A bad ass doesn’t tiptoe around issues, they’re blunt. They make no apologies. And best of all they are confident in who they are.

There are so many great fictional characters who fit the bill, but my all time favorite bad ass is Ben Lewis from Linda Howard’s Heart of Fire. Leaping off the pages of the book, he elicits a range of emotions from hate to love and everything in-between.

So share, who’s your favorite bad ass?


Megan Mitcham, Writer

17 thoughts on “Your Favorite Bad A**

  1. It’s too early in the morning for me to name one, but I think your description is spot on! Yes, confidence is very sexy. I’ve read a lot of Linda Howard, but I haven’t read that one. I’ll have to check out this Ben Lewis fella. 🙂

    1. It’s funny to me. LH even wrote on the back cover that Ben Lewis was so B.A. that for a long time she thought he might be a villain. Check it out, it’s my favorite book, thus far. Hope you have a good day Brinda!

  2. From my teenage fantasy, oui!!! Megan, the images you have enticed me with going back into my younger years. Seth, definitely, had an impact Dangerous Obsession
    by Natasha Peters

    P.S. Of course, there are many others, but he left a mark..lol

    1. Dangerous Obsession, even the title of that book gets your adrenalin going. I’ll have to take an ole look see at this Seth character. He sounds memorable. Thanks for sharing!!

  3. Jamie Fraser. The man may have been a virgin when he married his Claire, but he was no angel. I give you this:

    “I will find you,” he whispered in my ear. “I promise. If I must endure two hundred years of purgatory, two hundred years without you – then that is my punishment, which I have earned for my crimes. For I have lied, and killed, and stolen; betrayed and broken trust. But there is the one thing that shall lie in the balance. When I shall stand before God, I shall have one thing to say, to weigh against the rest.” His voice dropped, nearly to a whisper, and his arms tightened around me. “Lord, ye gave me a rare woman, and God! I loved her well.”

    Diana Gabaldon~Dragonfly in Amber

  4. Sebastian, a Scotish highwayman, from Teresa Medieros’s Heather & Velvet. He was a criminal and a scoundrel, but he cleaned up so nicely! I loved how the heroine knew he was a badass underneath all the lace and frippery of his aristocratic disguises.

  5. You are so right on your post. We like our boys to be strong, independent and sway to the right side of the law. I can picture a few. Anyone that looks like Hugh Jackman, and can kick ass like Chuck Conner. But as Brinda said it’s now too late to come up with any names. :} Loved your post, thanks for sharing.
    Lynda

  6. Fun post, Megan. I loved reading through everyone’s comments. Haven’t had a chance to read next two books in series yet, but loved Kylar Stern from Brent Weeks’ The Way of Shadows. Also gotta mention Mike Havel and Rudi Mackenzie from S.M. Stirling’s Novels of the Change!

    1. Jill, I swore I replied to your comment days ago. I typed it out, but who knows where it went. Most likely eaten by my computer goblin.

      Anyhoo, thanks so much for the book suggestions. They are, in fact, added to my list. Consequently, my pumped up list is the best part of this post for me.

  7. Thanks, Jill!! I had fun writing and hosing everyone’s comments. Yay, I get to add more books to my list. S.M. Stirling’s covers are phenomenal! I can’t wait to read them. Swords on the cover of The Way of Shadows, I’m all in.

Comments are closed.