New Releases · Voirey Linger

Writing on the Move

I recently completed one of the most difficult moves of my entire life. It was also one of the shortest… in distance anyway. My family and I packed up our possessions and moved into an apartment just a few miles from our old place. On paper, the plan looked simple… box things, load up the car, take them to the new place. Men with pickup trucks is one of Arkansas’s natural resources, so I was sure to be able to get a little help hauling larger items and loads. To make things even easier, I had three weeks to get everything done. Plenty of time, right?

Except things didn’t quite work out as prettily in real life as they did on paper. Health and physical restrictions meant I couldn’t put the amount of work into the move that I had anticipated. My kids started back to school in the middle of the move, so I was limited to what I could manage in a day. The men to help were scarce and the pickup trucks even scarcer.

And just to throw an additional wrench in things, my editor sent me revisions.

My usual revisions with this particular editor are light. Commas, typos, clarify this sentence… Not a lot of work. But not this time. That would have been too simple. I had sections needed rewrites. Entire scenes needed to be added and core elements of my plot needed to be reworked. My deadline: three weeks.

For anyone keeping track, that’s back to school (including the mess of changing schools), a move, and major revisions all happening at the same time.

Fortunately, when life backs up and emergencies arise, editors are willing and able to work with their authors. I explained what all was happening and my editor gave me an extension.

It’s the first time I’ve ever had to ask for one, and hopefully the last. Knowing I’m behind schedule doesn’t sit well with me at all, no matter how much she reassures me. Today I’m putting the finishing touches on the manuscript and sending it back. I’m still surrounded by boxes, but my move is done. The kids are in school and we are mostly settled in the new place.

I wish I could say I’d have time to relax once this manuscript is turned in, but I still have to unpack, and I’m getting ready for the Ellora’s Cave RomantiCon in October. It will be my first con and there is a lot to do. One of the more exciting things about this con: The book signing. It will be my first public appearance as an author and I’ll have a shiny new print book to mark the occasion. The first two books in my Heavenly Lovers series, Risking Eternity and Forsaking Eternity, have been combined into one edition, Heavenly Eternity.

That’s not my only news on the book front. Embracing Eternity, the third in the series will be available soon from Ellora’s Cave keep an eye on the blog for new release announcements. My  first story with Turquoise Morning Press is also on its way. I’m in the upcoming anthology Passionate Exhibitions, along with DSRA’s own Maggie Wells. Look for it in ebook in October, print release TBA.

I’ve been a very busy bee. I think I’m about buzzed out.

Voirey

5 thoughts on “Writing on the Move

  1. Overwhelming and exciting all at the same time. I wish we didn’t live so far apart. I have a man and a truck I lend out all the time. Thank goodness he likes physical labor and helping people. I LOVE Heavely Eternity’s cover! Dreamy! Congratulations on your TMP contract and upcoming Con signing!!

    1. Thanks Megan, I was thrilled to see that cover. I had that image earmarked hoping to use it for something in the future, so I was very excited to see it on my book.

      Cynthia, there were boxes in my closets that came pre-packed. I knew what was in most of them but there were a few I had to check, and those all ended up at the dump. Freecycle has been my friend.

      Also, our own Nena Clements came to my rescue. she not only had a husband and a truck, but a teenage boy and a trailer to boot. They took a morning to load up my furniture and get it hauled to the new place. My writer friends are wonderful.

  2. I SOOOO sympathize with your packing and moving. Sometimes I think it would be easier if my house burned down and I had to buy all new stuff rather than pack and move again! Plus, the reality of all the stuff we move from house to house to house and we never use it! I know hubby and I have moved four times in our marriage. On this last move, I unpacked some boxed HIS FIRST WIFE PACKED BEFORE SHE DIED! I promise! Then a couple of years ago, I got rid of carloads of stuff we never used.

    Hugs on the rough period. We’ve all been there.

    Notice I didn’t offer my husband, truck or my back to help you move! Back backs, small truck and no time. 🙂

  3. I know moving is a hassle, but I’m happy that you’re getting settled in to your new place. The cover for Heavenly Eternity is…heavenly. Hum-a-nuh, hum-a-nuh, hum-a-nuh!

    So excited for the release of Passionate Exhibitions. I’ve uploaded tidbits from my story to post each Sunday in October as part of the Six Sentence Sunday challenge. I can’t wait! I like to buy a copy on release day and read it straight through. 🙂

  4. I love how Megan says she has a man and truck SHE lends out all the time. HA! I know moving has been difficult, but I’m so happy for your new start. I can imagine how organized you’ll be with a fresh beginning. I second Maggie on the great covers.

Comments are closed.