Booksigning · conference · Cynthia D'Alba

Habits and Routines. Do you have good ones?

Routines. Habits. Daily Practices. We all have them. Did you know all these habits are ‘stored’ in a particular part of your brain? And that once you learn a habit, you can’t ‘unlearn’ it? That’s what I want to talk about today…routines.

On Mondays, I clean house. My trash is picked up on Tuesdays, so every Monday I vacuum, collect the trash, clean windows, etc so that all that used cleaning supplies (i.e. paper towels, Clorox wipes, etc) are go out with the trash.

Every Saturday, I strip the bed and replace all the linens.

First thing when I get up every morning, I grab a cup of coffee and a breakfast bar. Then I power up the laptop and check my emails and blogs. I take my daily meds (yes, yes…they keep me sane!) I brush my teeth.

Every night before I go to bed (even if it’s 2 a.m.), I clean the kitchen, make sure all the dirty dishes are either washed or in the dishwasher so I don’t have to face piles of used glasses and plates in the morning.

Every afternoon about 4, I start thinking about what to do about dinner.

Every couple of days, I run the vacuum through the house.

Before I leave on vacation, I throw away everything from the refrigerator. I strip the bed and put on fresh sheets. My husband turns off the water at the street.

All of these are formed habits. Have you noticed what is missing?

Writing. I don’t have good writing habits. If you study successful writers, you’ll learn that they have developed a writing habit to produce work. Some writers produce a certain number of pages per day and then they’re done for the day. Some authors write for a certain number of hours per day. Others go to a certain place (such as Starbucks) every day to get the work done.

The thing about habits is you do them without thinking. They just are a part of your life.

Writing should be one of those routines…something you do without thinking. And if you don’t do it, you have that nagging sensation that you’ve not done something you’ve supposed to.

So, do you have a writing habit? How did you teach yourself this habit? Inquiring minds want to know.

DON’T FORGET!!!

Tomorrow is the DSRA Self-Publishing Workshop. It’s FREE so how can you go wrong? Click HERE for more information.

Following the workshop is the Booksigning to benefit Turpentine Creek Wildlife Rescue.

4 thoughts on “Habits and Routines. Do you have good ones?

    1. I think my coffee is more a habit than a caffeine need. But mornings I don’t have coffee, I feel like I’ve forgotten to do something! I’ve thought about putting together a presentation on how we form habits. It’s isn’t the 21-day theory we’ve all heard about!

    1. My dogs get a milkbone in the morning after they go outside to “do their business.” I’ve seen them go out, walk around and come back to their bone! They have their habits too. 🙂

Comments are closed.