Nena Clements · planning · tools

Who Are They Really?

That is the question every writer asks themselves about the people populating their imagination. Who are they? What makes them tick? What are their flaws? What makes them great?

I love to find out who my hero and heroine are. They end up taking me on a journey of discovery. Not only about their lives, but of self discovery as well.

Just recently I took a class on building characters. It was awesome, given by HelenKay Dimon. In this class Helen provided some excellent links to some amazing resources.

I think I should preface this by saying I collect character sheets. As a noob writer I feel like I’m on the search for any and all tools that will make me better or give me the best advantage in my craft. Character sheets ranks right up there. I think it’s because I love to find out who these people really are that speak so clearly in my head. They talk to me, but I have to ask the right questions to find out who they are underneath all those layers. Character sheets do that for me.

Well…. this class gave us one heck of a character sheet. It is 100 questions to ask your characters. It took me a couple of hours to complete  for my heroine. The questions get more precise and intimate as you work your way through the pages and I had to let them settle in my brain before the character told me the answers.

Hands down, this is the best character review ever. I found I could write mannerisms and reactions with hardly a thought after filling it out.

Check it out and let me know what you think.

Nena

