Character developement · Uncategorized · writing advice

Tortured Heroes ~ I Feel Your Pain

Being a published author, one thing I’m not short on is people coming up to me and saying, “Oh, I’m writing a book. It’s about how I rose above everything bad that happened and overcame it all.”

“Wow, I don’t think I could put my inner struggles out there like that.”

“What do you mean? I’m just telling them what happened.”

Then, I wonder if they indeed had inner struggles. *blink blink*

Well, of course they did…

Now, I’ll admit that I don’t read many autobiographies, but if the inner conflicts that make up all of us is removed, I really don’t think that book is going to call to me. Maybe I’m too immersed in fiction? Hard for me to think that’s the thing. Deep emotions are something we all experience and I believe it’s what brings the characters alive and keep us turning the pages. I love it when I don’t want the book to end because I’ve fallen in love with them. I have to believe true-life stories would be the same.

And the best?

When the heroes/heroines—even the villians— are tortured souls trying to deal with their own inner demons.

A few examples are?

(and don’t hate me for this first one…lol)

.

.

ImageTwilight’s Edward Cullen…though I’m on Team Jacob *wink*…where Edward fights his primal urge to be with the one he loves.

.

.

.

.

.

ImagePhantom of the Opera…where he’s scarred for life from his abuse and falls for Catherine and forces her to choose him over her love only to realize he could never own her heart.

.

.

.

.

.

ImageAnd of course I can’t mentioned tortured heroes without mentioning Cornerstone Deep…where Cole has made poor decisions since the death of Mianna and ultimately has to face the fact that he had put her into a position with eternal consequences to her soul. Boy, the gods are not happy with that one…

.

.

.

.

.

How about you? How important are characters with inner struggles to you?  Who are your favorites?

.


Until next time, may your dreams be magical.
  


     Charlene
 

~ * ~

 Posted by Charlene A. Wilson

 Paranormal/Science Fiction/Fantasy Romance

http://CharleneAWilson.com

 

 

