Tina Medlock · writing advice

Lessons

Thirty days ago I was in a hotel in Washington DC for a conference. Before it started in earnest, I did the one thing that scared me the most – I submitted my manuscripts.

After that, the waiting began. In that time I read a lot, went to the literary festival, hung out with my friends, did my day job, and took advantage of a rare chance to be coached by a published author. I did everything possible to not wait.

A few things happened: I found a fabulous mystery series, met a Stormtrooper, had lunch with the most recognizable author I’ve met so far, and reconnected with my life. I also got some excellent coaching on how to improve my writing. Which, honestly, was like closing the barn door once the horse was out. “Oh . . . so this is what I should have done. Well . . . crap.”

So the “no” from my first submission was expected. Actually, it made me happier than “yes.” Don’t get me wrong, an acceptance would have rocked. However, knowing what I know now, I would have been worried about any publisher that would have taken the manuscript as it was submitted. I wanted the chance to fix it.

The important lesson: No didn’t kill me. No one cut off my fingers or took away my computer. I get a chance to learn and improve – and that’s what I intend to do.

Stay tuned!

Tina Medlock

6 thoughts on “Lessons

  1. I am SO GLAD my first submission got a no. I would mortified if that writing was ever put into immortality via publication! Sounds like you had a great conference. Who did you have lunch with?

  2. Cyndi — I was thinking about our lunch with Sylvia. 🙂 But I took an online workshop from Lori Wilde in March, and she offered a free week of coaching as a follow-up. I thought I’d be silly not to take advantage of that opportunity. My week fell at the end April. Lots of growing pains, but I learned a great deal and got some incredibly useful feedback.

  3. Don’t be upset about putting your work out there before you accumulated a few more lessons learned. Writing is a craft. We should be learning, growing, and honing that craft no matter how far we’ve traveled down the road to publication. I say good for you! Now take those lessons lerned and run with them!

    1. Thanks, Margaret! I’m running as fast as I can. 🙂 Honestly, getting out of the starting blocks was HUGE for me in terms of bravery. There’s no going back now.

Comments are closed.