Megan Mitcham · tools

Learning Curve

6088599157_facb613065_z

Learning. We start early and never quit. No matter how complacent we seem, acquiring new tools and greater understanding is hard-wired into our genetic code. You know the saying, “You learn something new every day.” It’s true! In 105 B.C. paper was invented in China. See. Something new. If you’re a brainiac and already knew when paper was invented, you didn’t know I had my first kiss at age thirteen. So, ha!

It’s a good thing we’re hardwired for advancement because writing, for the purpose of mass-market publication, has a *long and gradual learning curve with little hope for plateau. An author, conservatively needs the following skills: grammar, punctuation, plotting, conflict, setting, story arcs, character building, tech know-how, marketing, communication, publication options. The list could go on and on.

In the interest of learning, below are enlightening links.

Punctuating Dialogue (Refresher anyone?)

Character Building – Body Types (Makes you realize there’s more to a character’s looks than just a big man with brown hair and eyes, lips and a nose.)

Daily Writing Tips (Something to help get the fingers typing or the pen writing.)

Romance Writers of America – Education (Back to school…)

So, curve away!!!

Megan Mitcham, Author

 MM_026bw

*I was certainly going to write steep learning curve, until I discovered it meant complete understanding happens quickly. Add another nugget of knowledge to my score sheet!

9 thoughts on “Learning Curve

  1. Thanks, Megan. I think one of the best things about being a writer is the fact that our craft demands that we learn and grow with each project. 🙂

    1. After the ego (my ego) recovers from the initial drop (finding out how little I knew about writing a book). The roller coaster ride is exhilarating (when I’m not queasy). 😉

  2. Great post, Megan! Those are helpful links. In the interest of learning, I bet you didn’t know I got my first kiss at the age of 18! I was a late bloomer. 😉

    1. And look at you now, writing the “smut” as Mags calls it. It’s a good thing you bloomed late. The world would have combusted from hotness otherwise. 🙂 Always a giggle, I mean pleasure, Jules!!

  3. Echoing Margaret Etheridge’s comment, and adding, love that the writing community is always so willing to share what we’ve learned. Thanks for the post, Megan.

Comments are closed.