Elle James · Myla Jackson · writing advice

What do you do when you’re stuck?

2013-05-19 14.45.31
Seriously, send me to the poo-parlor!

I don’t believe in writer’s block.

That said, I’ve been stuck on my current work in progress (WIP) for the past couple of weeks. It’s not flowing the way it should and I really needed to finish it by the end of this month. I think part of my problem is that I’m looking at the whole elephant, not one bite at a time. So what do I do? I write a little (not enough) then find anything else in the world to do that will take me away from my story!

Over the past week, I’ve painted an office, mulched my garden, mowed my yard, and even got the clippers 2013-05-19 14.46.41out and went after my malti-poo, much to  her dislike. And what do I have to show for it? Well, a nicely mulched garden, a mowed front yard, a butchered haircut on my dog and not enough words to finish the darned book. So today is Sunday and I’m clearing my plate (another word for procrastinating again) so that on Monday, I’ll start afresh on those words I need. I’ll disconnect myself from the internet, emails, phone calls and family until I get my wordcount each day. I do so solemnly swear!

What do you do when you’re stuck? Procrastinate like me? Or get to work, pushing your way through until it gets done? May your week be as productive as I will make mine!

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “What do you do when you’re stuck?

  1. When I get writer’s block, I have a friend who can get me out of it. She has an uncanny knack for asking just the right questions to get my story going.

    Another sure-fire cure for me is to go on a drive by myself. No radio–just me with lots of time to think about nothing but the characters. By the time I reach my destination I’m scrambling to jot down a scene or two.

  2. I clean. I talk it out with friends. I update my website and write blogs. I do a whole lot of daydreaming and asking, ” what if…” Sometimes, i go back and edit what I have and hope an answer jumps out at me.

    I keep telling myself I’ll at least be productive and work on other projects, get some short stories done, but it never seems to work out that way. I guess I’m too focused on the problem at hand.

  3. I think talking helps. Not necessarily the ideas of others but sometime talking out loud will help me bring my thoughts around.

    However, sometimes when I have writer’s block, it’s because my brain is telling me my story is off-tract somehow. Something isn’t working and I know it but am trying to ignore it. That’s where talking helps.

Comments are closed.