Charlene A. Wilson · critique groups · writing advice

Are You A Gray Blob?

.

As for the title…  Don’t answer that.  You better not be!

.

.

In a recent interview I had on BlogTalk Radio, the host said, “I’ve heard writers say that participating in critique groups hampers the individual’s creative process; that not only is a lid put on the writer’s inspiration, they come away a cookie-cut version of the others in the group.”  Then, he asked if I belong to a group and what my thoughts on the matter where.
.
Well, I suppose if a writer finds a group of authors that are set on theirs’ being the only right way to think, that view would be true.
.
It’s important to let your muse shine when you create.  Self expression is what keeps us individuals and, in my opinion, brings dreams to life.  How interesting would it be to have everyone appeared, sounded, thought the same?
.
It reminds me of (yes, I’m a mom) an episode on The Fairly Odd Parents.  It’s a little cartoon where fairy godparents grant wishes to a little boy named Timmy.  In the episode The Same Game, Timmy is teased for having buck teeth and wanted everyone to look the same so he wouldn’t be different.  And he wishes it.  Of course, Wanda and Cosmo make it so.  Everyone in the world turned into a gray blob of a person.  Nobody appeared different.  They were only able to find Timmy and grant his wish to return to normal by finding the gray blob that wore the pink hat—Timmy’s little individual show of expression.
.
Relating this to critique groups and cookie-cutter writers…  If people in your group try to tell you how to think and tell your story, then find another group.  Of course certain rules should be followed to create an engaging read, but hold to your individual style and let your voice shine.  I have wonderful critique partners.  I’ve mentioned them several times in my blogs and around the internet.  They’re a great support system and encourage me onward down my own path.
.
What are your thoughts on writing groups and critique partners? Do you have any? If so, what are the pros and cons you find?
.
.
.
.
Until next time, may your dreams be magical.
  
     Charlene A. Wilson
.
~ * ~
.
Posted by Charlene A. Wilson
Creating worlds where dreams become reality.
.
.
.
One thought on “Are You A Gray Blob?

  1. I think the author crit group = cookie cutter/boring story is usually a newbie author who doesn’t know her own voice or an author who isn’t confident with her skills. I know I’ve seen it in contests. The entry is absolutely perfect but the story has no soul, nothing unique.

    Good thoughts.

Comments are closed.