Brinda Berry · conference

An Open Letter to the Insecure Writer

reprinted from a blog post at Brindaberry.com 08/06/13

Dear  Insecure Writer,
Let me assure you that you will have days when you think you are crazy for continuing to write. You’ll read your own work and cringe at the thought of others reading it. You will wish for a day when you have nothing to do but read, watch movies, and stare at the sky…All. Day. Long.

And you’ll ask yourself, “Is it worth it? Worth the sacrifice that I make or my family makes? Will I ever write a bestseller?”

I can’t answer that. Seriously cannot answer because who knows if it will rain tomorrow. The weather man can predict, but he’s sometimes wrong.

I can tell you that if you continue to try, you have a  chance. It’s a better chance   than that of the  person who is watching another episode of Here Comes Honey Boo Boo and doesn’t have time to write.

Let’s talk for a minute about writers supporting each other and the power of inspiration.

A couple of weeks ago, I attended the Romance Writers of America National Conference. It was one of the coolest conferences I’ve ever attended. I learned so much from all the sessions. I got to visit with my writer friends who live across the country–Abbie RoadsKim Meyer, and Lori Freeland.  I met new friends–like Celeste Easton.

One writer friend I’ve known online for years, Ciara Knight, brought me and my roomie gift bags with a gourmet cupcake and bottled water. How cool is that!

Hopefully, I didn’t embarrass myself when I went all fan girl over Jennifer Armentrout and Darynda Jones. I met  Katie McGarry. I acted as a book signing assistant to Cathy Maxwell.

RITA award

Then I attended the RITA/Golden Heart awards ceremony on the last night. It was freaking awesome.  Why? Because I got to listen to writers give thank you speeches and talk about their struggles. Yeah. They asked themselves those same questions I mentioned earlier. The speeches were humorous, humble, and heartfelt.

Congratulations to all those winners, and I offer my congratulations to you for continuing to write one more page, one day at a time.

Keep writing,
Brinda

 

 

BIO: Brinda lives in the southern US with her family and two spunky cairn terriers. She’s terribly fond of chocolate, coffee, and books that take her away from reality.
WEB
     BLOG     FACEBOOK    TWITTER   GOODREADS    YOUTUBE

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “An Open Letter to the Insecure Writer

Comments are closed.