brainstorming · Lynda Kaye Frazier · planning · tools · writing advice

Re-defining goals

I’m a list maker and a goal setter. I start my day with a little note pad and I write down what I need to accomplish before I crawl back into bed. Kind of OCD but I can’t seem to get through the day without something to check off and I get a feeling of accomplishment when I throw away a completed list. I can hear you laughing, and my kids swear I need rehab to break my addiction to sticky notes, but it keeps me organized and focused during my busy, hectic days. When I decided to start a writing career I had to make a list. I know, what a surprise right? This list contained what I needed to get started and my goals for my first three years. Now I will admit, when I have things left on my list I transfer them to the next day. Before I started to write I rarely had to transfer anything, then someone hid my paper and stole my sticky pads. My free time and organization went all to hell. Once my story started to flow I found myself using my breaks, my lunch and my evenings writing chapter after chapter, ignoring my lists. I found myself having mini meltdowns as things I needed to do piled up but I just couldn’t stop writing. My story became my new addiction and I found myself needing to take back control so I decided to re-define my goals, make a new list. I looked over what I wanted to accomplish in the first three years and realized I was already a year behind. My first book came out in February and my first goal was to have my second book done by the time my first one came out. Well it’s September and I’m not quite there. To save my mental status from a permanent break down I re-structured.
I made a new goal list, but kept it practical. Instead of listing the final project, I put down time during the day to write, and word counts. I knew what my personal best word count was from writing my first book and used it as a base. Each week I had a blank line on Sunday. My goal was to beat my Personal writing goal each week. Even if it was by one word I wanted to strive for a higher count. Can you tell I love competition and deadlines? Making this small change allowed me to focus on writing, and not panicking because the list said I was running out of time. I was able to still make my lists, complete my everyday tasks and fit writing in without letting it control every spare second of my day. Not that that’s a bad thing. I loved it when I wrote my first story. It’s just not practical with a day job, a farm, kids and Husband that liked to eat dinner when he got home. Now I have a daily list of things to accomplish, with writing being part of it. A weekly word count to strive for and a list of goals that are achievable without leaving me overwhelmed.
So when you feel like you’re backed against a wall and unable to clear your head to fill the screen with your next best seller, sit back and make a list. It puts everything into perspective and gives you a visual goal to strive for.
Thanks for stopping by.
Until next time,
Lynda
http://www.lyndakayefrazier.com

