Maggie Wells · Margaret Ethridge

NaNoWriMo prep

Next month I will chase after my fifth National Novel Writing Month win. Whoo hoo!

For anyone who may be unfamiliar with the concept of NaNoWriMo, the theme is ‘Thirty days and nights of literary abandon!’ This means that you write your sweet tuchas off for thirty days, trying to reach a goal of 50,000 words by November 30th. There’s no multi-million dollar publishing contract, new car, or shopping spree awarded to NaNoWriMo winners, only a few cool web graphics and a heaping helping of personal satisfaction.

Each November, I rediscover my love of simply telling a story. Yes, I have a ton of editing to do when it’s done, but that’s December’s problem. October’s issue it getting everything I’m currently working on set so that I can concentrate on November.

In a way, preparing for NaNoWriMo is more difficult for me. I have multiple projects in various stages of production and I can’t simply tell my editors to call back in December. There will be releases this month and next. That means I need to get my promo lined up. Oh, and there’s the pesky matter of the current WIP. Time to decide if I set it aside for the duration or plow ahead to the finish knowing I’ll need to start another mid-stream. With all this going on behind the scenes, you’d think I’d take a pass on it this time, wouldn’t you?

Not on your life.

NaNo is either a boon or a bane, depending on who you ask. I know writers who are so daunted by the prospect that they practically shut down for the entire month of November. I know some who plunge in with so much gusto it makes my head spin.

I’m neither. I just keep plugging away at that daily word count until I make it.

This challenge is always a great motivator for me. This is the one month out of the year when I am required to harness my inner editor and write—just write—so I can keep pace.

I find that very liberating.

How about you? Do you NaNo or are you a NoNo?

Margaret

4 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo prep

  1. I’m a NaNo-wannabe. I don’t think I’m capable of writing 50,000 words in a month, but I am so very envious of those who can. I always attempt, though. The best I’ve ever done is 20,000 words. That doesn’t make me a champion in NaNo’s eyes, but I couldn’t be happier with the result. So yes, I will be unofficially participating in the challenge yet again, and I’ll be the official cheerleader of those who make the goal. 🙂

  2. It makes my palms sweat just thinking about it! Maybe, if I had no children, had a maid, and lived of a fat trust fund I would give it a go, but such is not life. I have started keeping track of my daily word count thanks to you, Margaret. We’ll see how I do in November… Best of luck you two!!

  3. This will be my second year of doing NaNo. I won last year, and I plan to win again this year 🙂 And like you, I have to gear up this month, so I’m ready. My only worry is that it will be November when my editor delivers my edits for my next release. LOL!

  4. You can do it!! I can’t do it. Too many interruptions. I have write every day I don’t work to finish and now a days I have a guilty conscience about not feeding my family. Dang responsibilities! I’ll be cheering you on!

Comments are closed.