Uncategorized

A Few Facebook Tips

CateMeme2I know, I know, it’s been around for years. I still remember the day I reluctantly signed up for my personal profile and the reason why I caved in—Café World. Now, I avoid all games on the social media site because I know firsthand how addictive they can be. I was like the Dunkin’ Donuts guy in the mornings when I knew I had cyber food that was about to be finished and didn’t want it to spoil. Yeah, I’d been obsessed, but I finally got to a point where I abandoned my café for good. During my gaming days, I’d learned to appreciate the real reason for Facebook…to snicker at high school classmates and giggle at the latest cat meme. Social interaction rocked!

But when the time came to create an author fan page, I rebelled again. I’d finally accepted the need for Facebook in my life. No way did I want to add a new page of responsibility. Eventually, I caved again, and I couldn’t be happier. Having the fan page allows me to do things that I couldn’t do on my personal profile and even analyze metrics. But like most people, I’m still learning. Below are a few tips I’ve come across during my use of Facebook Fan Pages:

1. You know those tab/app icons on your Fanpage? The ones that are sometimes too generic or even worse…ugly? You can change them! I’d stumbled on this when I’d discovered an app that’d let me create a page for my Instagram account. The standard icon that came with it was ugly, and a commenter posted how to change it to something unique. Here’s what you do: At the top of your fan page, click “Manage”, then “Edit Page.” In the list that displays, select “Apps.” Find the app you want to modify and click “Edit Settings.” A pop up will display where you can change the image to something else. Fair warning: the image size must be 111×74 pixels or it will resize.

2. And speaking of tabs, the “Likes” tab that comes up front and center can be hidden…kinda. Now you’re probably thinking I’m crazy for suggesting this, but hear me out. I used to think that the button just showed everybody how many likes I had, which I was okay with. I had NO idea that they could click on it and get metric data I’d thought was only available to admins on my account! What if a user comes along and is undecided about liking my page, they click on it, and don’t like what they see, so they pass. I’ve lost a potential fan. Besides, only four tabs show up on the top, so you might as well make those four tabs/apps count. This one is much easier than the last tip. Just click the edit icon on the image and click which one you want to “swap with”. Now, I’m sure there’s a way to hide it entirely, but you’d probably need HTML experience and the right app for that as well, but at least moving it makes it outta sight, outta mind.

3. You can schedule your post! This is courtesy of a fellow DSRA writer. During our fab writing retreat last month, someone mentioned you can schedule your Facebook posts. I’d never tried it, but working long hours sometimes, posting on Facebook doesn’t always occur at optimal times. All you do is type your message, but instead of clicking post, click the clock icon on the left hand of the box and schedule when you want your post to actually, um post.

So there you have a few FB tips to make your Fan Page work better for you. Have another tip? Post it below.  🙂

One thought on “A Few Facebook Tips

Comments are closed.