Maggie Wells · Margaret Ethridge

Shh. Don’t tell…

So, as I told you last month, I’m already wading into NaNoWriMo. That means this month I’ll be focused on finding the right balance between real life and writing so I can complete my goal without ending up unemployed, divorced, or besieged by a killer rabbit.

Would any of you be shocked to hear that I’ve concocted a plan? Yeah, I didn’t think so.

Here’s the gist:

Phase I – Wake up, pet the bunny, go to work, do work, go home.

Phase II – Pet the bunny, converse with hubby, change into workout clothes, go to gym (at least three times per week), discuss dinner options, unwrap frozen pizza and pretend it wasn’t a foregone conclusion.

Phase III – Write. Write like the wind.

Phase IV – Brush teeth, wash face, place contact lenses in case, pet the bunny, and crawl into bed.

Phase V – Sleep.

Lather, rinse, repeat.

Overall I think it should work out well as long as the bunny has plenty of carrots and the hubby continues to be addicted to the PlayStation. I have a short list of non-writing-related topics that I plan to introduce into various conversations so no one suspects I’m actually three scenes ahead in my mind. If I can keep from wearing one brown shoe with one black one, I think it’ll all be good.

How about you? How do you deal with the busy times?

3 thoughts on “Shh. Don’t tell…

  1. Best of luck with the NaNo-ing, Mags! I’ll be cheering you on the whole way! 🙂 How do I deal with the busy times? Well, I tend to eat a lot of chocolate. Hyper-Evelyn is at least twice as productive as Normal-Evelyn.

  2. Busy times…I withdrawal from social media and try to fit it all in. Real life. Writing. I try to enjoy the now and not feel guilty when something doesn’t get done exactly when I want it done…chapter 10, laundry.

    Good luck with NaNo!! I know you’ll rock it!!

Comments are closed.