Megan Mitcham

Who Doesn’t Love a Good Accent?

Southern Boy

He spoke but a word. I was hooked.

Ears pricked, begging for more.

From inflection I knew more than how good he looked.

He came from the Mississippi shore.

Sun kissed skin and an easy smile.

Confidence and rhythm rumbled from his voice.

I could listen to him talk for a while.

Forever, perhaps, if I made this choice.

                                                    -MM

From Britain to Boston, Spain to SoHo, Australia to Atlanta, and everywhere in-between accents abound. And, dear authors, they’re not just for real life or the movie screen. So, don’t be afraid to add some culture to your contemporary. It’s a big world out there full of beautiful swirls and sways of the English language. I’ll share with you a few of my favorites. Below that, you tell me yours…

BRITISH

SCOTTISH

SOUTHERN

MM_026bw

Megan Mitcham, Author

Words Excite. Imagination Thrills.
9 thoughts on “Who Doesn’t Love a Good Accent?

  1. I just want to thank you for this post because it was such a great thing to wake up to. 😀 That last fella is definitely a spicy meatball. Mmmm, hop on to my plate any time, baby! Rawwrrrrr!

    Oh, and I will add Jonathan Rhys Meyers to the list of actors with GUH-inducing accents.

    1. Spicy meatball!!!! I don’t think I’ll stopping laughing all day long! Thanks for that Jules!

      I have to agree with you about Jonathan Rhys Meyers and he almost had a feature video. Maybe on a follow-up!

  2. I was totally going for southern until I played Gerard Butler! Scottish……sigh…..I’ll go home to the highlands with him anyday!!

  3. Fun post, Megan! How dare you temp me with 13+ minutes of clips to watch? 🙂 I love Gerard Butler. So that may have influenced my vote.

    Hope everyone at DSRA is doing well!

    1. And to think I was forced to watch them all…for posting and research purposes only. Sorry to bring you down to my level. 😉 Good choice, by the way!

      The DSRA ladies are doing well…preparing for a meeting this weekend, a thirteen author book signing the next, and an end of year Christmas party in December.

      Hope you’re feeling merry and bright this almost holiday season!

Comments are closed.