Uncategorized

Being Gumby by Elle James

Image

As a writer, I can be very single-tracked. It’s how I get my work done. I go after it like a bulldog, tearing into a bone. I don’t let go until the work is done and turned in to my editor. But no matter how I try to plan, I have to be flexible enough to change gears in the middle of my stream of work and pick up another task and run with it. I’ll be in the middle of cranking out pages of my latest book, working toward an impossible deadline and wham! I’m hit with edits for a previous book. Or bang! I’m asked to provide the detailed pages of an Art Fact Sheet so that the cover artist can work on the cover for one of my books. Or my family calls and says, I need you to pick up the grandson, or I need something that will require you to give up a day of writing.

Yes, a writer should be focused and set priorities, but so often I feel like Gumby and Pokey, being twisted ant stretched into crazy contortions. So what do I do about it? My days get longer, I write into the evening or I get up earlier in the morning. I don’t like to miss deadlines, so I bend, twist and stretch to honor my commitments. It’s what I do. I am a writer.

About the Author:

ELLE JAMES also writing as MYLA JACKSON is an award-winning author of stories including cowboys, intrigues and paranormal adventures that keep her readers on the edges of their seats. With over seventy stories in a variety of sub-genres and lengths she’s published with Harlequin, Samhain, Elloras’ Cave, Kensington, Cleis Press, and Avon. When she’s not at her computer, she’s traveling, out snow-skiing, boating, or riding her ATV, dreaming up new stories. Learn more about Elle James at www.ellejames.com

Website | Blog | Facebook | Twitter | GoodReads | Newsletter  Or visit her alter-ego Myla Jackson at mylajackson.com Website| Blog | Facebook| Twitter | Newsletter

