Elle James

Planning for 2014 (ELLE JAMES)

As I near the end of the year, I produced a year in review letter to send out to family and friends. I went back over my calendar and wrote about all the trips I took with and without family, what was going on in the lives of my grown children, and the successes we’ve had with our business and with my writing. When I went back and counted up all the projects I worked and the number of words I wrote, it came up to be 14 projects consisting of 7 books, 6 novellas and 1 short story for a total of almost 580,000 words. That’s a lot of words! No wonder my fingers feel shorter. I’m wearing them out!

And I’m not done with my crazy schedule. I’m already thinking about 2014. Heck, I’ve been thinking about 2014 since around June of this year. You see, I have contracted work through March of 2014 and because I have deliverables so tightly packed, I’ve had to be on a strict schedule all year and I will be all the way through March. Normally I spend time in December planning out the next year. I need the deadlines and by putting them on a calendar, it makes me work toward delivering on time. I recommend everyone lay out a calendar. Granted, it WILL change. I know that, but I need a starting point. This is what my calendar for 2014 is looking like now. I’ll continue to tweak and hope for the contracts to come through with my publishers. But this gives me an idea of when I can schedule in some vacation time. Hahahaha!

2014Calendar

As a serious writer, bent on making a living at this job, I have to lay out my plans and stick to them. Are you planning your year? If not, why?

3 thoughts on “Planning for 2014 (ELLE JAMES)

  1. Cyndi –

    I’m stealing this little spreadsheet! Always love a new way to track stuff and this is a good one!

    And yes, that’s a CRAZY schedule! No RWA next year even though it’s in Texas??

    K-

Comments are closed.