Maggie Wells · Margaret Ethridge

The Sound of Inspiration

Like many writers, I find music inspirational, but it wasn’t until I was reworking my playlists that I realized how much of a role music plays in my writing. Here are a few lines from song that have been an inspiration to me.

“I can see it in your eyes that you despise the same old lies you heard the night before. And though it’s just a line to you, for me it’s true and never seemed so right before.” – Somethin’ Stupid written by C. Carson Parks

“A man in my shoes runs a light, and all the papers lied tonight, but falling over you is the news of the day.” – The Ghost in You written by Richard and Tim Butler

“The story of my life, is very plain to read. It starts the day you came, it ends the day you leave.” – The Story of My Life written by Neil Diamond

“Well, I won’t give up on us, Even if the skies get rough. I’m giving you all my love, I’m still looking up.” – I Won’t Give Up written by Jason Mraz

“And my arms need someone, someone to enfold. To keep me warm when Mondays and Tuesdays grow cold. Love for all my life to have and to hold. Oh, and I wanna Sunday kind of love.” – A Sunday Kind of Love written by Barbara Belle, Anita Leonard, Stan Rhodes, and Louis Prima

“I don’t know you but I want you all the more for that.” – Falling Slowly written by Glen Hansard and Markéta Irglová

The mere idea of you, the longing here for you. You’ll never know how slow the moments go till I’m near to you. I see your face in every flower. Your eyes in stars above. It’s just the thought of you, the very thought of you, my love. – The Very Thought of You written by Ray Noble.

How about you? Do song lyrics speak to you? Share a couple of your favorites here!

Margaret

One thought on “The Sound of Inspiration

  1. Le sigh. These lyrics are just gorgeous. I find music and lyrics very inspirational too. Here’s one of my personal faves:
    All the world’s great lovers have been glorified. History placed them in a romantic set. In between book covers they are side by side. But the real thing hasn’t been written yet – Now it Can Be Told, written by Irving Berlin.

Comments are closed.