Harriet Hale

What I Did on My Christmas Vacation

Write Away by Elizabeth George

I have the benefit of a day job that closes over the holidays. For two weeks I had one less thing on my schedule. It gave me a chance to spend time with my extended family and do a few more fun things. So . . .

  • I saw The Desolation of Smaug and celebrated Christmas with my husband, my best friend, and her husband.
  • I spent time with my parents, brothers, sisters-in-law, nieces, and nephews. There is nothing like the glee of a two-year old at Christmas.
  • On Christmas morning I listened to my favorite actor narrate a National Geographic program while I sipped coffee and read a book. Best Christmas ever!
  • My mother took my husband and I on a tour of a few of the places she’d lived as a child. I saw places and heard stories I’d never known.  She’ll cringe at this, but they may end up in a story or two (with the names changed, of course).
  • My grandmother and I did crossword puzzles while we giggled. She’s one of the reasons I read romance novels, and she’s anxious to read mine. I’m racing her health to be able to put one in her hands.
  • My husband and I spent two weeks of quality time together – and did a little shopping.
  • I read a few amazing books.
    • One was Ogling Miss October by Maggie Wells.
    • The other was Write Away by Elizabeth George. I am a huge fan of her mystery novels.  She creates the most amazing and authentic characters, and I wanted to know how she did it. I also learned a way to plan my writing and build on my lessons from plotting bootcamp.
  • I finished my manuscript and submitted it to the editor who had asked to see it. Cross your fingers!
  • I started plotting and writing my next book and collaborating on a novella series with another writing friend.

It’s going to be a great (and busy) year!

HarrietHarriet

Find me at harriethale.com or on Facebook

2 thoughts on “What I Did on My Christmas Vacation

Comments are closed.