Maggie Wells · Margaret Ethridge · procrastination

Drawing a blank

There’s a blank page staring me in the face.

It isn’t that I don’t have plenty of ideas. I have an entire Evernote workbook stuffed full of bunnies. And a few of those ideas are fairly well outlined. There are some fairly large blocks of dialogue and scene synopses in that file. I have all the building blocks to tackle any number of projects.

And I have a blank page.

I think this is one of the most difficult bits of being a writer is knowing which story to tell next. There are certain tales demand to be told, but more often than not it’s up to the author to pick a bunny and tame it. If it were a matter of choosing the prettiest or fluffiest, it would be a piece of cake, I’d just let my real bunny, Tim, choose.

IMG00095

But choosing which yarn to spin next is not so simple.

How about you? Does a blank page inspire or intimidate? How do you choose which project to tackle next?

11 thoughts on “Drawing a blank

  1. Aw, I love that Tim Bunny! Yeah, I know the blank page can be intimidating. I always choose the story that sounds like it will be the most fun to write. I mean, if I’m going to spend a long time working on it, then it has to entertain me.

    1. Fun is important! I finally have some characters frolicking in my head. Hopefully, I’ll get some onto the page this weekend!

  2. How timely. I am facing a blank page. My last book has been turned in. Spots at my publisher are filled for the rest of the year. Do I write the next book in that series, or start something totally new? I have no idea.

    1. I was in the same boat, but I think I’m going in a new direction for now. I need something fresh. 🙂

  3. *hugs and cuddles Tim* Well, I haven’t seen a blank page for a while since I’m (literally) stuck in the middle of a story about peanut butter. However, I remember always being excited by the sight of a blank page. Anything you write is a step toward the finish line. And nothing is ‘wrong’. You have absolute freedom to do whatever you want with it. That’s pretty cool if you ask me. 🙂

  4. A beginning writer here…so lots of blank pages. The few ideas I do have are good ones, but as I start to flesh them out, a new one pops into my head and I need to write it down! Then I get so excited about the new idea, and I quit working on the first one. Vicious circle! How do I jump out of it?

    1. You don’t have to let those plot bunnies go, but you do need to corral them! I use a cross-platform program Evernote to store my ideas, that way I have access to my file from whatever device is handy. Other than that, it’s a matter of channeling that creativity into a singular story. If you’re a pantser (like me), that can be tough to do. When it happens to me, I try plotting it out by chapter and scene. That way, I have all those ideas flowing into one story. Good luck and get to writing!

  5. Timely again! I know exactly what story I want to tackle next. It’s completely, beautifully plotted. I have an entire weekend dedicated to writing, beginning, said project, but the first page just stared back at me for four hours today, refusing any of the words I tried to add. Damn page! I finally kick its but to Canada and back. I got to see Eve too. Finally, it’s rolling, but watch that first page it’s a doozie!!

Comments are closed.