Brinda Berry · planning · tools · writing advice

I’ve Been Doing It All Wrong ~ Brinda Berry

Your Brain at WorkHave you ever read a book that rocked your world? I recently attended a conference and had the opportunity to hear a presentation by author David Rock. He was a dynamic speaker and gave some highlights from his non-fiction book, Your Brain at Work. I enjoyed his humorous explantions of how we are making everyday productivy so much harder on our brains.

The book is written in the same laid-back accessible language as his presentation. I immediately purchased the audiobook for my husband. We’ve both discussed how much this book has already impacted the way we think about our workdays. Not only did I try to change some of my habits at my day job, I’ve decided to change some habits as an author.

One example is the way I tackle my to-do list. I tend to begin with the smaller, easiest tasks first in the morning.  I’d choose to begin a 10-minute task or email in order to complete those things. Since I’m a morning person (and my brain is rested from sleep), I would invariably get through those tasks. Sadly, I might be less fresh and relaxed by the time I get to the more difficult  items on my list. Rock explains that doing email or the easiest tasks first is a mistake.  Instead, engage in the most taxing project at the beginning of the day when your brain is more able to handle the job. Don’t get caught up in email that sometimes waylays you for more time than you ever estimate.

The book outlines so many occurences that I recognize from my own life. My husband and I now joke around about how many items I have on “the stage”—a reference to the items on your mind at the moment. To be efficient, you can only handle a certain number of tasks on your stage. Rock gives you strategies for managing life better.

The example above is just one of so many that will change the way I work. It will be a difficult change, but one I’m willing to make. Interested? Read more about this book and some other reviews from heavyweights such as Stephen Covey at http://www.your-brain-at-work.com/reviews/index.shtml .

BIO: Brinda lives in the southern US with her family and two spunky cairn terriers. She’s terribly fond of chocolate, coffee, and books that take her away from reality.
WEB
     BLOG     FACEBOOK    TWITTER   GOODREADS    YOUTUBE

2 thoughts on “I’ve Been Doing It All Wrong ~ Brinda Berry

Comments are closed.