Brinda Berry · writer's retreat

The Camaraderie of Writers ~Brinda Berry

Master Immersion

I understand how lonely writing can be. When I began writing many years ago, I didn’t have a support system of writers. No place to learn craft. No friends who understood struggles over a manuscript. No mentors to advise about the business.

Then I joined a couple of writing groups, and it all changed.  First I discovered the Diamond State Romance Authors group. Later, I joined a group of writers from READerlicious.com. I met the second group after taking classes with Margie Lawson at the online Lawson Academy.

Last month, I traveled to Houston to attend an Immersion Master class with Margie and the READerlicious gals.  It was my second time to attend a session.  The Immersion Class is an intense experience.  A writer spends several days fine-tuning a manuscript, learning with other writers, and forming personal bonds that last a lifetime.

We worked like wordsmith maniacs , but we also had a lot of fun. One of the most memorable activities was acting out a scene from a manuscript. I served as narrator and could barely read through the laughter.

No matter where you are in your journey as a writer, I urge to look into writing groups.  I’m so grateful I did.

 

BIO: Brinda lives in the southern US with her family and two spunky cairn terriers. She’s terribly fond of chocolate, coffee, and books that take her away from reality.

WEB   BLOG    FACEBOOK    TWITTER    GOODREADS  YOUTUBE

2 thoughts on “The Camaraderie of Writers ~Brinda Berry

  1. If you lack support…get a writing group. And if you still lack support get a better one. My writing gals have become some of my most cherished friends. My biggest blessing in my writing life is my READerlicious girls. I couldn’t do it without them.

Comments are closed.