Maggie Wells · Margaret Ethridge

12 Weeks on Submission

It’s the time of year when the Christmas carols start playing in a continuous loop. I’m sure it’s just a matter of time before I’m whistling Santa Baby and queuing up Snoopy’s Christmas on the playlist, but for now the only thing I can think about is the fact that I’ve got a story nearly 12 weeks on submission. And this, my friends, is how 12 Weeks on Submission goes for me:

Week 1 – “I pressed send. Oh Lord, I pressed send. What was I thinking? Did I attach the synopsis? I attached the synopsis, right?”

Week 2 – Refresh. Refresh. Refresh

Week 3 – “Man that synopsis sucked. It’s not even funny. The book is funny. Do you think they can tell the book is funny?”

Week 4 – “One month and no big fat R in my inbox. Maybe the synopsis wasn’t so bad after all.”

Week 5 – “They must have liked it. They wouldn’t be looking at it so long if they didn’t like it.”

Week 6 – Refresh. Refresh. Refresh.

Week 8 – “Is this refresh button working?”

Week 9 – “No news is good news, right? Right?”

Week 10 – “That’s it, I’m contacting tech support. This email account isn’t working. Is the internet broken? Clearly, the internet must be broken!”

Week 11 – “I should nudge. Should I nudge? Next week is twelve weeks. That’s a reasonable time to nudge. If I still haven’t heard anything next week, I’ll just give them a teensy tiny nudge.”

Week 12 – “What if they’re on the fence and I nudge and they say no because I’m too pushy? But what if they lost it? Maybe they lost it. Maybe I’ve lost it.”

Dear Editor/Publisher/Agent/Unpaid Intern manning the email account,
Excuse me. I’m sorry for the interruption. I don’t mean to bother you, but if it wouldn’t be too much trouble….

4 thoughts on “12 Weeks on Submission

  1. *giggles uncontrollably* Oh my God, you’ve captured the post-submission feeling so very perfectly. Tom Petty wasn’t kiddin’. The waiting really is the hardest part, especially when you’re an author and you have to play that game almost constantly with publishers, editors, and agents, oh my! Thank you for finding the humour in it! My fingers are crossed that you hear good news soon, my friend!!

  2. This was me on my first submission ever to a publisher. I can’t remember how long after the initial sub that I got a note from the editor saying they were interested and to send the full and she’d get back to me no later than 8 weeks. Well that came and went, so I nudged. She said they were still interested, she’d let me know. Another month went by. “Still interested, thanks for asking!” Another month, and this time no response to my nudge so I submitted elsewhere, and Crimson said yes a week later. I went with them 🙂 Acquisition editors aren’t the only ones with power! And off we go, dancing and singing, “If you liked it, then you shoulda put a contract on it!”

Comments are closed.