Sandra Jones · writing advice

Five Things I’d Rather Do on Black Friday by Sandra Jones

I used to love shopping malls. Years ago, I would cash my paycheck, study the sales, and rush to the stores for those holiday doorbusters that were sure to save me oh-so-much money. Yeah, I was a sucker.

I’ve finally reached an age where I appreciate time (mine and others’) more than anything my credit card can buy. I’m going to avoid the stores this Black Friday, and here’s what you’ll fine me doing instead:

1. Reading: My TBR list is terribly long. It won’t cost me a thing to read one of the books on the list, and I’ll mark it off in less time than it would take to drive to the mall.

2. Catching up on movies: Yesterday I watched two Academy Award nominated movies and have more on my radar. I rarely have the time to sit, so enjoying a movie is a real treat.

3. Writing: I prefer to write in the morning before everyone else is awake. So while the crowds are in line at the retail stores, I’m sitting comfortably at the computer with a cup of coffee, extra cream. I’m currently prepping the December issue of my reader newsletter. This month I’m giving subscribers a free read as a Christmas gift. It’s a never-before-published historical romance by me, and I can’t wait to share this frontier story as my way of saying thanks.

4. Research: Most days I flit around on the Internet, torn between social media and history articles. A lot of times I copy the most useful research articles and save them on my hard drive. That way, when I get ready to go back and use the information, I won’t be out in cyberspace around distractions.

5. Spending time with my son: My college son is home, and I love making him home-cooked meals. Even doing his laundry is fine by me if means more time and conversations with him.

Make the most of your time, even if you do go to the stores today. When you get home, put your feet up, talk with family/friends, and relax with a great book.

Happy Holidays!

–Sandra
HHIProfileSandra Jones, author

HER WICKED CAPTAIN, Nov 2014

http://www.sandrajonesromance.com

2 thoughts on “Five Things I’d Rather Do on Black Friday by Sandra Jones

  1. I’m with you on all of the above. Switch out the college boy for the Razorback game and you have my day mapped out!

Comments are closed.