Uncategorized

Kill Your Darlings

Ginsberg, Faulker, King, Ethridge, Dyllin, and Kincade all agree…in writing, you must kill your darlings.

And so, this Sunday morning as I type blood stains my keyboard.

I started writing five years ago. An idea came while folding laundry, I wrote the premise, and then three months later I had a complete manuscript that was 60,000 words of passive, telling, crap!

I put it aside and wrote another, and another, until finally my writing wasn’t crap. And then I had the brilliant idea to go back to that first manuscript, edit it, and make it great.

The plot was spectacular, the conflict solid, the suspense jaw aching, the steamy parts really really hot. So, why not? Because my darling needed murdering.

The last three weeks have been wasted trying to mold poo into a masterpiece when I really needed to take the idea of the original story and write it with my present day skills. Tears cloud my eyes over the loss of those 60,000 words, but they weren’t wasted. They helped get me where I am today.

Have you ever committed murder? How did it feel? Do you regret it? What was the outcome…did it leave you in shackles or free to fly?

MM_026

Megan Mitcham

Sizzling Suspense – Are you sizzling yet?

The Base Branch Series
The Blacklist Series
8 thoughts on “Kill Your Darlings

  1. Megan, I offer my most sincere condolences for your recent loss. My heart goes out to you during this most difficult of times.

    I hope that in the days ahead you can find peace, and that these fresh wounds heal in at least some small way.

    With deepest sympathy,
    Your Friend and Colleague, Sami

  2. I’m so proud of you for going through with it! 😀 It may have been difficult to do, but like all of us told you yesterday… Your story will be better for it. Virtual hugs to you! ❤

  3. You fly, stagnate or fail whether you kill your darling or it dies at the hand of another. I choose to fly. At times, it may feel like you are flapping your wings in place but you are still flying.

    Fly High!!!!!!!!

Comments are closed.