Harriet Hale

Harriet Hides in a Hole

by Harriet Hale

I’m a late convert, but I love the movie The 13th Warrior. One of my favorite characters is Herger the Joyous. He’s probably everyone’s favorite. Big smile, sage wisdom, tough guy, great accent … Herger’s fairly awesome.

Of all the quotes that stick with me, there’s a specific one I love. “The All-Father wove the skein of your life a long time ago. Go and hide in a hole if you wish, but you won’t live one instant longer. Your fate is fixed.”

Right now, that applies to my thoughts about writing. It feels like the publishing All-Father has woven my skein and my fate is fixed.

Herger and the other 12 warriors saw their lives in two paths: fight, because you’ll either live or die and it’s not up to you; or hide, and die anyway. They chose to fight.

I’m choosing to hide in a hole for a little while. I’m tired of trying to rip up the skein and re-sew it and, unlike Herger, I can’t be resigned to it or happy about it.

But I won’t hide forever, and I’ll make the best of my time in the hole. Because for every “no,” there’s a “maybe.” For every family member who derides you for trying, there’s a friend who encourages you. For every supposedly well-meaning person who wants to know “how you’re doing,” there are a few actually mean it. And because sometimes you have to step back and take the time to turn your clunky Viking sword into a scimitar.

As Herger says, “Fear profits a man nothing.”

HarrietThis isn’t a particularly happy post, but … well, so be it. There are plenty of wonderful authors out there, go read something they wrote.

Harriet

Website | Facebook

2 thoughts on “Harriet Hides in a Hole

  1. Doing what feels right is usually the right thing to do. I hope that writing can eventually bring you joy again.

    I will say that, for me at least, publishing is not *the* indicator of success. No, it’s finishing a product that I love. If someone else loves it, then that’s just gravy.

    Good luck in the days ahead.

  2. Thanks, Sami. I love the thrill of crafting a plot and fleshing out characters, of telling their story. I’ll write whether I’m published or not, and I’m disappointed but not discouraged. It’s just time for me to regroup and reevaluate my path.

Comments are closed.