Uncategorized

Google Play Playground

google-play-books

I’ve heard all the arguments why authors don’t list their books on Google Play. “It’s too complicated… Not enough money to be worth it…” blah, blah, blah. If you’re one of those people, I’m here to tell you it’s time to change your way of thinking.

I have been on the retailer for almost 10 months, so my knees are still scraped up from my many attempts at mastering the monkey bars on this confusing playground. And although I’m still new to it, it has definitely been worthwhile for me. However where some authors were all about the Benjamins, my initial reasoning for loading my books wasn’t because of money. *gasp* But why, you ask? Simple.

Google is the NUMBER ONE search engine. Because of my tech background, I knew the importance of feeding this ravenous beast. Now, if anyone searches a line from my book (and by “line” I mean anything in the book file), the Google Play listing is the first result returned. That’s great exposure. That in and of itself was worth the hassle of learning a new platform.

But to my surprise, the money hasn’t been awful, either. Sure, I started out slow loading my books as I had time, so the first several months’ income was just as slow. BUT I’ve already earned more on Google Play in these 10 months than I have all last year on Kobo. KOBO! Why? Because like iBooks and Kobo, Google sells to a ton of territories (over 40). So while money wasn’t my main intention, it has been a glorious perk.

Two more reasons: 1. It’s not as crowded as the other “big” retailers, so it’s easier to get ranked, and 2. It’s still growing.

“But it’s harrrrrd.” Yes, using it is difficult. If I hadn’t found this “Uber Post” on Google Play, I probably wouldn’t have tackled it: http://www.kboards.com/index.php?topic=167655.0

READ THAT POST. It addresses so many issues.

Is Google Play perfect? No. You have to hunt and peck to find things. Reporting is lacking. There’s no real-time data, etc. But once you master it’s nuances, there’s money to be made there. And in the end, money is the only thing that pays the bills.

2 thoughts on “Google Play Playground

Comments are closed.