Voirey Linger

Seasonal Slump

By Voirey Linger

Copyright (c) 123RF Stock Photos
Copyright (c) 123RF Stock Photos

I’m in the middle of my seasonal blahs. It happens to some degree most years, but this year has been worse than the norm. Maybe it’s because the weather has been so bad lately, or maybe it’s just because I’m turning into a woman “of a certain age.” (Which we can pretend isn’t happening, right?) Whatever the reason, I’d rather spend my writing time flopped on my back or sleeping than writing.  All my new-year enthusiasm has drained away to nothing. Plotting? Forget about it.

Still, there are words to make and deadlines to meet. My goal is three stories completed this year. It shouldn’t be that hard to manage since two of them are more than half-done already. All I have to do is actually sit down and finish them. Easier said than done.

The good news is that spring is finally springing. I’ve had my windows open to take in the fresh air and sunshine, which has helped my disposition a lot. (Which means we can forget that “certain age” thing. No, really. We can. Not happening.) It’s perking me up a bit, but I’m still a bit droopy. Nothing more air and sunshine can’t fix, right?

Help a fellow writer out. What’s your pick-me-up when you’re suffering from the blahs?

3 thoughts on “Seasonal Slump

  1. Music always gets me going. When I’m feeling sluggish, I switch over to a more upbeat playlist. Most of the time, I end up chair dancing it out.

    1. Chair dancing sounds like a lot of fun. Plus I’m much better at it than actual feet-dancing.

Comments are closed.