Promo · tools · writing advice

RT Knowledge

So yes, I was a bad girl and waited until the last minute to upload this post, but it’s because I knew I would be at the Romantic Times Convention in Dallas and I knew I’d have hundreds of nuggets of information to impart. However, I don’t have time to expound upon the hundreds. I’ll stick to one.

Each author’s career path is unique. Do not. I repeat. Do not compare yourself to another author. It’s wasted energy. Instead focus that hutzpah on yourself. Answer these two questions and then set goal that set you on that path.

1) What is your goal as a writer?

This will change perhaps yearly, but surely in five years. Do you want to make money? Do you want to hit a list? Do you want to expand your readership? You may think these are all one in the same. In fact they are goal with different paths to achieving them.

2) What are the steps you need to take to get there?

Will a publicist help you hone your brand? Will a larger publisher help you find your readership? Would a change in category help readers find your books?

Lots of questions really. I don’t have all the answers for myself, much less for you. Yet, I have a the puzzle pieces. It’s up to me to dig deep, find the answers to those questions, and zoom down the path.

MM_026All the best,

Megan

Sizzling Suspense – Are you sizzling yet?

http://www.meganmitcham.com

One thought on “RT Knowledge

Comments are closed.