Maggie Wells · Margaret Ethridge · procrastination

Mags for President of the Procrastination Nation

I started a new manuscript this week. Some authors get really excited about a new start. I’m not one of them. It isn’t that I don’t know what to write—the synopsis is detailed, the story already sold. The opening scenes are clear in my head. I just…I always feel like I don’t know my characters well enough to crawl inside of them.

The start is always hardest for me. We’ll warm up to each other, I know. A chapter or two in, I’ll be hearing these two in my sleep. But right now, we’re like boys and girls at a middle school mixer. We’ve shared a few glances. They know I’m interested, and I think they want to hang out with me too, but we just haven’t worked up the nerve to actually, you know…dance.

That means I’ve been spending a lot of time doing anything but writing. I thought I’d share the top 5 ways I have procrastinated this week:

5) Laundry – You know you’re desperate when you resort to sorting load after load rather than stare at the blank page. Hell, I even busted out the bag of hand wash and must dry flat clothes I’ve been hoarding in my Pride and Prejudice laundry bag.

4) Worksheets – I completed a six stage plotting spreadsheet as well an in-depth character analysis. Now some of you might think this is me being productive, but you would be wrong. Let’s be honest here, I am a pantser by nature. I did the worksheets so I wouldn’t have to do the writing. Will they help? Sure. Did I need them? Not really.

3) Food – There have been days when I can honestly say I attempted to eat my way to freedom.

2) Books – Putting a dent in the TBR pile is one of the most legitimate excuses any author could ever use. It’s research, right? I read four books this week. Only one of them was in my genre, but all reading is good reading as far as I am concerned. The books I devoured were by Lorraine Heath, Tiffany Reisz, Kristan Higgins and Tessa Dare. You don’t even want to know how hard I’m going to hit the Roni Loren that’s next up in the rotation.

1) Netflix – A season and a half of Friday Night Lights. Need I say more?

IMG_1204

And guess what? College football starts next week! Wooo hoo!

IMG_1206

Let’s face it, we can’t write all the time. There has to be some decompression. We have to have some days, weeks, or even months when we’re not sharing head space with our characters.

What about you? What are some of your favorite ways to procrastinate?

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Mags for President of the Procrastination Nation

  1. LOL, this post amuses me endlessly. I’m reading it while I’m supposed to be writing. I’ve been known to shave my legs to avoid writing. Call people. On the phone. Even though I have telephonophobia. Write emails. Long-ass emails. Which sorta counts as writing, right? And about a dozen other things, including food and cooking of said food. I’m nearing the end of a project I’ve been working on for several months and I’m so excited to share it with the world, so I’m gonna go and write it!! 🙂

Comments are closed.