Brinda Berry · Character developement · Uncategorized · writing advice

Strange But True~ Brinda Berry

“Where do you get your ideas?” Friends and strangers ask me this quite often. The answer is “everywhere.”

Music, movies, news, life. I get ideas everywhere I look.

TBOL240x360My latest release, The Beauty of Lies, began with my fascination for stories about con artists who marry and keep multiple families. Families who don’t know each other.

[Quit looking at my hottie on the cover as if he’s the con artist. SPOILER: It’s not him. Back to my blog post…]

When I saw a story of polygamy on the news, I began to look for stories online. We’re a very mobile society with significant others who work out of town/state/country for extended periods of time. We also may not know much about a person’s past when we get into relationships. In early America, you married the guy who grew up in the same town with parents you knew. You knew every guy or gal your love interest dated before you. Not today. People meet and become couples with very little background knowledge. Read this news story for an example of a bigamy case.

 

I didn’t copy any particular real life story. But the reality of this happening to someone sparked a million ideas. The entire story isn’t about the inspiration stated above. This is where it started. Remember that I write romance novels, not mysteries or thrillers. If you read the blurb for this book, you won’t see any of the things I’m telling you in this article. Writers take ideas or experiences and grow them into stories.

If you’re a writer, where do you find your inspiration?

 

BrindaBerry_392x588Brinda Berry lives in the southern US with her family. She’s obsessed with cairn terriers, Kings of Leon, new technology and sandy beaches. She’s also terribly fond of chocolate, coffee, and books that take her away from reality.

Connect with Brinda Berry on social media:
WEB
 /  BLOG /   FACEBOOK /  TWITTER /  GOODREADS /  YOUTUBE

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Strange But True~ Brinda Berry

Comments are closed.