Uncategorized

Another First!

1115_9781460394380_Soft_Target_WebWith a chorus of trumpets and a shower of confetti I give you … my first ever cover!

Isn’t it pretty? I can’t stop staring at it. (Maybe because it’s the wallpaper on my phone and on my tablet, and it’s on every social media outlet I curate.)

This is the summer of firsts for me: first editor emails, first contracts, first rounds of edits, first promotion outing. The first time I’ve handed out my business cards to complete strangers and said, “my book is coming out in November.”

And, while I love doing it, facing a release date is also scary. It’s like watching the National Geographic Channel and waiting to see if the penguin gets away from the killer whale.

Here’s the thing: I love this book. I love these characters. I’m thrilled they’re my debut release because they deserve to be. And if I never wanted anyone to read it, critique it, or share it – then I shouldn’t have submitted it in the first place.

We all have to be brave at some point in our lives, whether it’s sky-diving or asking the cute guy in school to dance. My current small act of bravery comes in saying:

Soft Target, my debut novel published by Carina Press, goes up for pre-order soon and will be officially on sale on November 16. You can find out more about it on my website.  I can’t wait to hear what you think.

In the meantime … what’s the bravest thing you’ve ever done?

Mia 

Find me at:
2 thoughts on “Another First!

  1. November 16th? That’s THE GREAT DAY! That means I get the first Mia Kay book for my birthday. I win! I win at life!

    1. Yay, Mags! You’ll be my lucky charm!! And to add that extra grace note, my grandmother’s birthday is November 15. The book is dedicated to her, and she’s the basis for a character. She introduced me to romance novels, and she always asks “when can I read your book?” Now she can.

Comments are closed.