Maggie Wells · Margaret Ethridge · planning · writing advice

It’s that time of year!

Like many writers, I spent November with my head down and fingers flying. I’m happy to report that I completed my seventh NaNoWriMo challenge this year. And it was just what I needed.

As you know from previous posts, I’ve been struggling with my latest WIP. Not the story, but prying the darn thing out of my head and getting it on the page. I’m happy to report that I was finally able to type ‘THE END’ on the first draft. It’s a complete mess and needs massive overhaul, but I figure that’s what December is for, right?

As November melts into December, the end of year frenzy accelerates! I have a draft to overhaul, edits on an upcoming release to wrap up, and a proposal or two to write. December is also the time I reflect on the past year, update my progress, and get down to the business of developing my business plan for 2016.

A business plan can be as simple or complex as you want it to be, but I believe it’s an essential tool for writing success. Last January, I posted that I was working on the following projects:

Spring Chickens is scheduled for release on January 8, 2015Check! It was also included in the Unforgettable Heroes II boxed set!

I have a two drafts to complete – Bossy Pants and Full Court PressCheck and Check! BOSSY PANTS was renamed A WILL AND A WAY and was contracted my Kensington/Lyrical Press as part of my Worth the Wait Romance series, and will release July 2016.

FULL COURT PRESS was completed and sent out on submission to a handful of agents. Superstar agent, Sara Megibow, read it and loved it. We’ve since sold FCP and two additional books in the Wolcott Warrior series to Samhain Publishing for release in 2016-2017.

I’m still waiting on a response on a proposal submission. That means I’ll have to work up the nerve to nudge again. – Nudged and got an even better response than expected! Not only did Kensington/Lyrical pick up A WILL AND A WAY, but two more books to follow my September release, GOING DEEP. Books two and three in the Coastal Heat series will release in April and October, 2016.

There’s a bunny for a short story I’d like to turn loose.All bunnies have been corralled and caged. As you can see from my notes above, I have a lot of work to do this year.

Whew! We won’t even talk about the other proposals I’m cooking up. I have to save something for January, right?

So…not a bad year, now that I look back on it. Another exciting one coming up. Time to break out that Excel spreadsheet and lay it all out. After all, if I don’t let a few of these other plot bunnies out, they may turn into Killer Rabbits!

How was your 2015? Do you have a plan for 2016? Need ideas on how to put one together? Check out Voirey Linger’s posts here and here.

One thought on “It’s that time of year!

  1. Congrats on such a successful year, Mags! My 2015 was fairly slow on the writing front, however, my current WIP is the greatest thing I’ve ever written, in my most humble opinion, and I’m SO CLOSE to the end. Can’t wait to finish it up and get it in my cute little crit partner’s hands. I think 2016 is gonna be a fabulous year! 🙂

Comments are closed.