About DSRA

We’re a chapter of the Romance Writers of America®.

We’re motivated and excited about Arkansas’s very own romance writer’s organization.

This determined group of authors has a sense of humor and an obsession for writing romance.

MISSION: Our Mission is to promote excellence in romantic fiction and advance the professional interests of career-focused romance writers through networking and advocacy, dissemination of information, professional education, publications, and other appropriate activities, and to provide continuing support for writers within the romance publishing industry.

DSRA History

April 15, 2006, five Arkansas Romance Writers of America (and another 3 in spirit) met and formed the Diamond State Romance Authors (DSRA). Three more meetings followed, all open to interested RWA members and RWA member-gonnabes, in which we discussed and decided upon things such as chapter goals, bylaws, and basic policies and procedures.

After the formation meetings, Diamond State Romance Authors was ready to roll. We had adopted a set of bylaws, we were in the process of filing for Federal tax-exempt status with the IRS, we were incorporating as a non-profit organization within the State of Arkansas and we had grown to 12 members, 4 of whom were already published Romance novelists.


This is who we were when we began:


Anna J. Evans
Elle James
Myla Jackson
Shayla Kersten
Julie Linker
Cynthia D’Alba
Robin Miller
Sherice Smith


Anna J. Evans
Elle James
Myla Jackson
Shayla Kersten
Robin Miller
Cynthia D’Abla
Sherice Smith
Sharon Vanetta
Mary Ann Webber


2006-Cynthia D’Alba
2007-Shayla Kersten
2008-Ellen Cooley
2009-Shada Royce
2010-Sandra Jones
2011-Delilah Devlin
2012-Brinda Berry
2013-Brinda Berry
2014 – Sandra Jones
2015 – Margaret Ethridge
2016 – Margaret Ethridge
2017-Megan Mitcham
2018-Megan Mitcham
2019-Mandy Harbin