Brinda Berry · Cynthia D'Alba · Delilah Devlin · Elle James · Margaret Ethridge · Megan Mitcham · Sandra Jones · Voirey Linger · writing advice

Spring Retreat – Into The Mountains

What could be more fun than retreating from the responsibilities of everyday life to an incredible lodge in the Ozark Mountains with twelve friends, who just happen to be multi-talented, brilliant, comical women that all share a passion for writing?

Humph? Well, I could think of a couple of things. 😉 I’ll keep them to myself. No blushing on this post.

Midday Friday, twelve DSRA members converged on the Cedar Crest Lodge in Ponca, AR from our respective corners of the state. Our number one goal for the weekend – WRITE. Our second goal for the weekend – LAUGH. I must say we did a heck of a job with both. The most glorious sound this weekend, besides laughter, was that of tapping keys. Oh, what music!

The chapter would like to thank President, Brenda Berry for scouting the perfect location, bringing the dream to fruition and being the hostess with the mostess. Treasurer, Cynthia D’Alba also deserves a round of applause, and possibly a badge of courage,  for owning the job of taskmaster. She kept us all on schedule, assuring our productivity with three two-hour writing sessions on Friday and four on Saturday.

We all returned home today with fond memories, an expanded lexicon (Thank you Cynthia and Margaret!), and thousands of added words to our works in progress.

I hope you enjoy the pictures from our weekend away!


Megan Mitcham, Writer


27 thoughts on “Spring Retreat – Into The Mountains

  1. A fabulous weekend! Thanks for the post and for sharing your photos with those of us who may have walked out of the house without a camera. *whistles* *tries to look innocent and fails – as usual*

  2. This was so much fun to read! I can’t imagine a more inspiring setting than this. So glad you all had this opportunity and turned it into a complete success story! 🙂

    1. Julie, thank you for your kind words. We are all extremely fortunate to have such amazing women in our local RWA group who support and entertain one another. And yes, the peaceful (luxurious) setting certainly helped!

      I hope you have a wonderful day!

  3. Megan,

    I clicked that I like this post, but I truly don’t like the fact that y’all retreated with my Brinda and didn’t invite me. Of all the nerve!

    Ka-snort.

    I an certain you left the retreat with your wells overflowing.

  4. Makes me want to join the club, beautiful scenery, creative writing and caring environment. WOW! The Photos’s are awesome Megan, you captured the warmth in each shot.

    1. Well Diana, come on up, down, or over. Whichever the case may be for you. Our next meeting is June 16th. We have truly creative writers and a nurturing environment. The scenery is not always so idilic, but hey you can’t have it all, all of the time.

      I’m glad you like the pictures! I love taking them.

  5. Oh! Oh! I have it on good authority that Sherry Isaac can not be trusted within the U.S. borders without proper supervision. I know where she packs the U’s to sneak them across the border. They need them to add honoUr and humoUr and coloUr to their writing.

    Yes. I will take on the task of supervising her at the next DSRW retreat. You’re welcome.

    Great pics. I’ll be there to make sure Sherry doesn’t sneak her favoUrite back to the land of the U hogs.

    1. Gloria, we’d accept you with a smile!! And I’ve heard stories about that Sherry Isaac. You’re so brave, volunteering to supervise!

      Glad you like the post and pics! I had a great time experiencing them.

    1. We were glad to have you, Carol. I’m glad it was a productive weekend for you and I look forward to seeing you at the meeting in June.

  6. I hated to miss this, but my family insisted that I stay home for my Mothers day celebration. It looks like you guys had a great time. I won’t stay home next time. :}

Comments are closed.